Majors and Careers

Below is a listing of the contacts within the academic departments in terms of majors and minors. 

Major/Minor Advisor Email University Bulletin Career Option Sheet
Africana Studies Jennifer James jcj@gwu.edu Major Requirements
American Studies Elisabeth Anker anker@gwu.edu Major Requirements
Anthropology Alison Brooks abrooks@gwu.edu Major Requirements
Arabic Studies Mohssen Esseesy esseesym@gwu.edu Major Requirements
Archaeology Eric Cline ehcline@gwu.edu Major Requirements
Art History Bibi Obler bobler@gwu.edu  Major Requirements Careers in Art History
Astrophysics Mark Reeves reevesm@gwu.edu Major Requirements
Bioanthropology Carson Murray cmmurray@gwu.edu Major Requirements
Biological Sciences Aleksander Jeremic jerema@gwu.edu Major Requirements
Biophysics Mark Reeves reevesm@gwu.edu Major Requirements
Chemistry LaKeisha McClary - Class 2017 mcclary@gwu.edu Major Requirements Careers in Chemistry
Michael King - Class 2018 kingm@gwu.edu    
Michael Wagner - Class 2019 wagnerm@gwu.edu    
Martin Zysmilich - Class 2020 mgz@gwu.edu    
Classical Studies Elizabeth Fisher eaf@gwu.edu Major Requirements
Chinese Hongyuan Dong hdong@gwu.edu Major Requirements
Communication Cheryl Wood cwwood@gwu.edu Major Requirements
Creative Writing and English Lisa Page lpageinc@gwu.edu Major Requirements
Criminal Justice Daina Eglitis dainas@gwu.edu Major Requirements
Dance Maida Withers withers@gwu.edu Major Requirements
Economics Robert Phillips rphil@gwu.edu Major Requirements
English Evelyn Schreiber eschreib@gwu.edu Major Requirements Careers in English
Environmental Studies David Rain drain@gwu.edu Major Requirements
Film Studies (minor only) Kerric Harvey kharvey@gwu.edu Minor Requirements
Fine Arts  Dean Kessmann kessmann@gwu.edu Major Requirements
French Masha Belenky belenky@gwu.edu Major Requirements
Geography Joseph Dymond  jdymond@gwu.edu    
Michael Mann  mmann1123@gwu.edu    
Geographic Information Systems (minor only) Ryan Engstrom rengstro@gwu.edu    
Geology Richard Tollo rtollo@gwu.edu Major Requirements
German Margaret Gonglewski Margaret@gwu.edu Major Requirements
History Tom Long tomlong@gwu.edu Major Requirements
Human Service and Social Justice Emily Morrison emily_m@gwu.edu Major Requirements Careers in Human Services
Interior Architecture Nancy Evans ntevans@gwu.edu Major Requirements
Italian (minor only) Lynn Westwater llww@gwu.edu Minor Requirements
Japanese Leo Hanami hanami@gwu.edu Major Requirements
Journalism and Mass Communication Patricia Phalen phalen@gwu.edu Major Requirements Careers in Journalism and Mass Communication
Judaic Studies Dan Schwartz Dbs50@gwu.edu Major Requirements
Korean (minor only) Moik Pak pakm@gwu.edu  Minor Requirements
Law and Society Fran Buntman fbuntman@gwu.edu Major Requirements
LGBT and Sexuality Studies (minor only) Chad Heap cheap@gwu.edu Minor Requirements
Mathematics Alexander Shumakovitch  shurik@gwu.edu Major Requirements
Mind-Brain Studies (minor only) Tad Zawidzki tad.xawidzki@gmail.com Minor Requirements
Music Eugene Montague Eugene_m@gwu.edu Major Requirements
ORSC John Procopio johnpro@gwu.edu Major Requirements
Organizational Communication (minor only) Jean Miller jcmiller@gwu.edu Minor Requirements
Peace Studies Irene Oh Koukios ireneoh@gwu.edu  Major Requirements
Philosophy Christopher Venner cvenner@gwu.edu Major Requirements
Philosophy: Public Affairs Focus Christopher Venner cvenner@gwu.edu Major Requirements
Political Communication Patricia Phalen phalen@gwu.edu Major Requirements Careers in Political Communication
Physics Mark Reeves reevesm@gwu.edu Major Requirements
Political Science Susan Wiley wiley@gwu.edu Major Requirements
Political Science: Public Policy Focus Susan Wiley wiley@gwu.edu Major Requirements
Psychology Stephen Dopkins dopkins@gwu.edu  Major Requirements Careers in Psychology
Religion Rob Eisen eisen@gwu.edu Major Requirements
Russian Richard Robin rrobin@gwu.edu Major Requirements
Sociology  Daina Eglitis dainas@gwu.edu Major Requirements Careers in Sociology
Spanish Christopher Britt cbritt@gwu.edu Major Requirements
Speech, Language, and Hearing Science Craig Linebaugh cline@gwu.edu Major Requirements
Statistics Srinivasan Balaji balaji@gwu.edu Major Requirements
 Theatre Alan Wade awade@gwu.edu Major Requirements
Jodi Kanter jikanter@gwu.edu     
Leslie Jacobsen lesliej@gwu.edu     
Women’s Studies  Chad Heap cheap@gwu.edu Major Requirements